The third International Opera Awards ceremony was held at The Savoy Theatre, London on Sunday 26th April 2015. The stated aims of the awards are to provide bursaries for emerging opera talent and to celebrate excellence in the world of opera. The shortlists have been announced and you view them here.

On Sunday 26 April 2015 at The Savoy Theatre, the winners of the International Opera Awards were announced in a ceremony hosted by Richard E Grant. The evening celebrated excellence in opera while also raising funds for the Opera Awards Foundation, which aims to support those starting their careers in the field of opera.

The Winners

Accessibility: Den Norske Opera

CD (Complete Opera): Offenbach: Fantasio, Opera Rara

CD (Operatic Recital): Anna Bonitatibus: Semiramide: La Signora Regale, deutsche harmonia mundi

Chorus: Welsh National Opera

Conductor: Semyon Bychkov

Designer: Es Devlin

Director: Richard Jones

DVD: Strauss: Elektra, Bel Air Classiques

Female Singer: Anja Harteros

Festival: Bregenzer Festspiele

Lifetime Achievement: Speight Jenkins

Male Singer: Christian Gerhaher

Newcomer: Lotte de Beer

New Production: Khovanskygate, Birmingham Opera Company

Opera Company: Komische Oper Berlin

Philanthropist: Ann Ziff (Bill and Ann Ziff Foundation)

Readers’ Award: Jonas Kaufmann, Aleksandra Kurzak

Rediscovered Work: Rossini: Aureliano in Palmira, Rossini Opera Festival

Richard Strauss Anniversary Production: Die Frau ohne Schatten, Royal Opera

World Premiere: Boesmans: Au Monde, La Monnaie

Young Singer: Justina Gringyte